SIERRA COUNTY CHAMBER OF COMMERCE
Goodyears Bar was named for two brothers, Miles and Andrew, who came looking for gold in 1849.
In 1862, there were 3,000 to 5,000 people, and 51 businesses in town, with gold being the main economy. The town burned in 1864 and was never rebuilt, except for the post office which is still in operation.
Historic buildings remaining include the renovated 1864 stage stop which today is the Helm's St. Charles Inn, a Bed & Breakfast, and the Goodyears Bar Schoolhouse which was built around 1872 and is still used as a community gathering place and recently became a museum, featuring four different exhibits showcasing the history of Sierra Country from different angles.